Scrap Of Decency

If only I had one. Mind you, that would mean that I would be obliged to throw myself off the Waterloo Bridge.

Perhaps it is better as it is. The life of a blackmailer and scoundrel is hard enough as it is, without morality coming along and pushing itself in. The calendar of saints is full as it is.

Of course there is always shame. Whether you are buying or selling, it is a useful emotion. The better sort of person feels it all the time…and then just goes on and does whatever engendered it in the first place – again and again. This is the sort of thing one should always search for. Repeat offenders mean repeat business.

Not that I am all that censorious. I approve of nearly everything, provided it doesn’t affect me. In this I feel at one with 98% of Federal Parliament. If I do figure in the ramp, I feel that my legal representative will be able to make everything better. If not here, then wherever I get to that doesn’t have an extradition treaty.

Have you noticed that places like this are nearly always tropical and have a strong central government? If only we could gain Special Status for Queensland…The Sultan of Brisbane sounds like a fine title. Gold Coast Meter Maids for a harem and a Minister For Roads to guard it.

2 responses to “Scrap Of Decency”

  1. Sultan of Brisbane…I can see it. In diamond encrusted flip flops.

    Like

    1. Not quite a rich as a traditional QLD Minister For Roads, but comfortable…

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.