Nearly That Time Again

I got a reminder from another professional photographer that the Western Australian Hot Rod and Street Machine Spectacular…the hot rod show…is coming up on the 17th and 18th of June. I am delighted – as June also contains a belly dance show, a toy show, and a model train show as well, it looks to be a good month.

I am hoping that I get to see the next chapter in the story of this pickup hot rod. It was displayed under some rather intense lighting at last year’s show, and I have been thinking about it ever since – it was a very valuable thing to see.

Oh, it’s a very valuable thing to the builder, as well. For many reason,I should say, and not just a pile of paid accounts to the parts suppliers and custom shop. That goes without saying with any car hobby. Even the rat rods have healthy price tags. It is in the interest of every car enthusiast to carefully record the purchase costs of any car they have, and then the price of parts, repairs, modifications, and outside work…plus the inevitable changes and official fees required to get it licensed. They should put all of this in a looseleaf folder with categories and subdivisions. And then take it down to Fremantle, wrap it in heavy chains, and throw it into the middle of the harbour.

No-one ever felt better looking at a price list – but everyone can feel better out driving a car. And this applies to every other constructive hobby, too. Pay for it, build it, use it, and love it. If you want to focus on the money become a bank robber or a miser.

Back to the white pickup. I can’t wait to see what more has been done, but I am glad to have seen what went into the insides. Too often a big engine is sandwiched into a frame and connected up but the very size of the thing and the complexity of the plumbing obscures the details further in. I appreciate it when rodders put a mirror under a show car to let me see what’s in there. I also like the slow pace of a car show…no pressure…because it lets me stand there and speculate about what all the bits do and why the builder has connected them in the way that I see. Some things puzzle me beyond sense, but I like looking at the patterns.

The one thing I always keep in mind when I see a car there is the fact that the car is there. If it has WA license plates – if it drove in the exhibition hall doors – if it has not let out 15 litres of old oil on the floor—it is patently obvious that it is a successful vehicle. It may have broken every knuckle on the builder’s right hand and rolled over his foot and smell funny in wet weather, but it is up and running. THAT is a real achievement.

 

 

Leave a Reply

