The Little World – Frugal Is Another Word For Cheap

And I am getting to be as cheap as…

As a follow-on from my post regarding the use of ” that ” at model expositions, I have decided to go around to our local road verges and make models of the structures that are found there. It would appear to be a fertile field of endeavour. There is more junk at the side of the road than at the council tip.

And I don’t mean just on ” clean-up ” verge collection week, either. Every street in Perth has its share of post boxes, telephone booths, electricity boxes, hydrants, and connectors. I have barely scratched the surface with these six items. When I start to make bus stops the thing will blow out of all proportion.

These are humble models in 1:18th scale. They are mostly foam-core board with a wrap of drawing paper and the occasional plastic detail. The signs are drafted on the computer, printed out, then glued on. They have the virtue of being dimensionally correct as I went round to our local road verges and measured the originals myself – to the amusement of the locals. The colours are correct because I took digital pictures of them as I worked – this was also a source of detail for the signs.

I spent nothing on them save time and all the materials came from overflowing scrap bins. I probably have enough off-cuts of larger projects to make up the entire suburb.

The beauty of them is they will allow me to make a diorama presentation of something as simple as a road junction or car park that will feature a number of vehicles but with an authentic stage setting. People won’t realise why it looks right, as most of the time these humble little boxes and fittings are mentally invisible.

Leave a Reply

