Are We Having Fun Yet?

dscf5061That’s akin to asking the question: ” Did you have fun? ” They are innocuous enough thoughts for the average punter…but it really becomes serious when you ask a weblog columnist these to questions and they give the answer: ” I don’t know – I haven’t written it up yet… ”

Well, you can pray for us writers, if you are inclined that way. We have gotten caught in the trap of never perceiving things in a pure form – every experience we go though eventually becomes either grist for the mill or grit for the gears. And once we have realised it, we are in even a worse way – we write mental reports about ourselves to  ourselves.

It is not really a case of overthinking so much as thinking in paragraphs and subheadings. We write an account – humorous, cynical, serious, scientific, or whatever – in our heads as we are doing whatever it is we are doing. I do it at model shows and car shows – I do it while listening to trade presentations and looking at art shows. I daresay that if I fished or rode a horse or painted pictures I would be composing a third-person account of it. It would be like being haunted by myself all the time, and not in a good way…

The really dangerous part is when you suddenly come across a recording medium in the midst of the musing. I keep a Moleskine book in my daily bag to write down inspiration. I do, but sometimes find later that it is of the most cynical and acerbic nature. While it is safe in the Moleskine as long as no-one sees it, if I were to pass a laptop, tablet, or computer in the heat of the moment, I might be tempted to blurt out over the aether. Nothing bad that is internetted ever really goes away – it always arrives where it can do the most harm.  I dread to think what might have happened if I had posted many things in the heat of the moment – some of them have a scorching half-life.

But there is a good side to this – the weblog column does vent internal pressure that might otherwise consume the writer. The slightly surreal aspect of it is we sometimes do not know what we have actually experienced until we read what we have written. We are real enough, and reality is real enough, but we need to glue ourselves into it. I prefer Weldbond white PVA glue myself – it is a Canadian product that seems far superior to other glues…

2 thoughts on “Are We Having Fun Yet?

    1. I re-read entries from 4 years ago and wonder at what I thought at the time. It is useful to remind myself that, in many cases, I have actually done what I planned. And in others the plans were bad…

      Like

Leave a Reply

