Civilisation, Captain, But Not As We Know It.

DSCF3470

The recent foray to the Plastic Model Exhibition was enough fun to draw money out of my pocket…I bought a vial of tiny nuts and bolts and two diamond files…and it provided a pretty good view into the minds of some of the modellers. The ones that really intrigued me were the ones who had gone past the kits and the hobby shop and who had looked at real life.

DSCF3471

The images illustrate this. The second part of the exhibition was given over to models in competition with each other – displayed for prizes. I cannot pretend that I understood the grading system or the categories they were placed in, but I was attracted to the civilian entries more than the military ones. These two vehicles in particular.

DSCF3472

There weren’t the sheer numbers that you see at the Super Model Car Sunday  ( Though the SMCS chaps had brought their beach scene along as well to entertain the crowds in the commercial section ) but these chaps have really observed what cars on the street look like. The fact that they are rather dirty streets full of old cars is part of the charm. That’s exactly the sorts of streets we live in.

DSCF3469

Unfortunately I wasn’t able to speak to the modellers who had completed these cars so I wasn’t able to find out how the detailed graffiti was put on the VW van. It looks too complex to be decals but too fine to be airbrush…unless the person doing it is absolute master of the instrument.

DSCF3473

In the case of the plumbing van, the airbrushing is a little more obvious, but I like the motley effect of the replacement doors. I also applaud the modeller for making a choice to do a working vehicle – few of the models seen on the plastic shelf and darn few of the die-casts are actual working vehicles. I know I am always looking for 1:18 trucks and they are so far pretty scarce. I’ve located a 4WD that is useful and there’s a Chinese commercial van on the eBay but that is about it. I want a tray-top!

Leave a Reply

