The Used Car Market – A Cautionary Tale

DSCF3488

Well sir, you want to keep your wits about you these days. You never can tell when someone is trying to pull the wool over your eyes.

I called in at a place in Cannington this afternoon to look at the cars. This chap…called himself ” Bill “* …was right there next to the old wooden fence. Said he had gotten a good deal on a Rolls Royce. Would I like to take a look…?

Well, of course you would jump at a chance like that. How many times in your life do you get to see a Rolls Royce? And if the price was right to start with…

DSCF3481

Well, I knew I should have been suspicious when he said it was a bit of a ” fixer-upper “. I’ve had experience with British motor cars before when the owners have told me that they need a little garage work. I remember trying to buy a small English sports car in the mid 1980’s and answering a couple of dozen advertisements in the ” SUNDAY TIMES “. I went out to see Austin-Healey Sprites and Triumph Spitfires and various models of MG. Some of ’em looked fine on the outside but then you looked under the bonnet and they started to look like lunchtime in the Lucas factory…wires everywhere. The owners were all insistent that I inspect the log books and garage receipts so that I would be impressed by how good the cars were. When you see a loose-leaf binder overstuffed with repair receipts it tells you something alright – it tells you that the mechanical device you are looking at needs to be repaired constantly, and that you will be the next fool that pours his purse into the petrol tank…

DSCF3486

I eventually concluded that buying a small sports car was asking for trouble…indeed paying for it. I went off and sought other ways to be unhappy.

DSCF3483

Okay, back to Cannington this afternoon. Fortunately I took my Fujifilm X-T10 along with me, though I seem to have left it on the black and white setting after the last boudoir shot. I need to put an orange tag on the camera strap to alert me to this so I do not shoot the wrong setting in future. In any case the accompanying photos will let you see what a shocking state this car has gotten into.

DSCF3482

I am surprised that this sort of thing does not attract police attention. We are always bombarded with safety advice about not falling prey to scams, but what is to protect the innocent car enthusiast from this sort of thing?

DSCF3484

I made my excuses and left, clutching my wallet tight to my hip pocket as I went. I will take particular care not to be taken in again. This sort of small-scale fraud is the sort of thing that gives used-car dealing a bad name.

  • Obviously an alias…probably named William.
4 thoughts on “The Used Car Market – A Cautionary Tale

  1. Hi Dick, Me again,I have just scrolled down your site and the photos of the Mercedes and Bugatti are both my work.I did them on commission because they were both very scruffy and would have been very difficult to recover so I was commissioned to help them on their way to old age. They become instant talking points your interest confirms. Any chance your coming tomorrow ?
    Bill

    Like

    1. Regrettably I won’t be able to come again tomorrow. The chap with the Bofors gun is calling round and we are going to set it up under the flight path of the Royal Flying Doctor Service and have a little picnic. It’s the sort of chance that doesn’t crop up all that often and you don’t want to hang around if you score a bulls-eye.

      Like

Leave a Reply

