The Tribute Car

mel2014 168

I wrote several years ago about tribute cars that are made by hot rod enthusiasts to duplicate famous vehicles from movies. I’ve seen Mad Max cars here at Gillam Road and the local version of General Lee 01 at Baldivis South. I even think I saw a Knight Rider car once, but the memory of both the show and the car are hazy.

I daresay we will see a Blues Brothers car, a Ghostbusters ambulance, and any number of local depictions of cars from television shows. I probably won’t recognise them  – TV is a vast mystery to me these days. In any case it is all a bit of fun, a good exercise in observation on the part of the builders, and in some cases works of art. Heck, Barris made a Batmobile from a Lincoln and that was a lot of fun.

The other type of tribute car seems a little more…well I’m not really sure what it is. I see it every now and then at various car shows. It is a hot rod or custom car that has all the characteristics of the genre – whether it be a ’32 Ford type or a low rider or a rat rod. If you saw it with a plain  hot rod paint job it would be what it was – a personal car made by a skilled enthusiast and proudly displayed. But the addition of a graphic converts it into something else. And I can’t really be certain what that is.

In any case, here are a number of vehicles seen through the years – the latest one at the Rods n’ Rust event in the Swan Valley. The only thing I can be certain about all these is that they are probably never on-sold by the builders. They mean too much.

DSCF3063

DSCF3056

DSCF3057

DSCF3059

DSCF3061

DSCF3064

_DSF2667

_DSF2668

Leave a Reply

