The Turquoise Beauty

DSCF0877

I cannot generally comment upon the paint colours of veteran and vintage cars – I know so little about the subject. I can vouch for a few in the 195os to the 1990’s – the vehicles my family owned here and in Canada. For the most part they were plain-coloured, though there was a two-tone Chevrolet in 1956 that was rather dazzling. And I’m happy to say it has been the subject of a very good 1:18 scale model – more on that one day.

DSCF0876

All this to introduce the rather startling colour of the 1934 Speed 20 Alvis. The pictures are taken on two separate occasions – last year and this year, but I daresay that if you are 82 years old one more makes little difference. I cannot say whether this is a factory colour, though I rather hope it is. It is glorious.

DSCF0880

The Alvis attracted my attention due to the large size of the headlamps and the high transverse spring in the front. That, and the low bonnet line, give it a particularly racy feel as a saloon. It is evidently not the sort of vehicle one would expect to see on Route 66 in the dustbowl with chairs and chickens attached to the roof.

DSCF0947

DSCF0948

Not that you could not do it. I was fascinated to see the chrome attachment points there on the front and rear of the roofline – I should posit a dedicated metal hook, and a removable transverse rack to attach there – perhaps to transport skis to Switzerland or fly rods to Scotland. I have no idea why the designers decide upon a little chrome loop to lift the boot lid instead of a sturdy handle, but perhaps the British motorist is a one-finger person. Evidently he drives on deserted roads with little illumination, if the front of the car is anything to go by. I hope the engine has enough power to cope with the drain on the electrics.

DSCF0882

Leave a Reply

